1. Initiatives
  2. Americas Cultural Summit 2018
Butterfly Icon

The Summit

The Summit was hosted by the Canada Council for the Arts in partnership with Argentina’s Ministry of Culture and the International Federation of Arts Councils and Culture Agencies (IFACCA). It was held in Ottawa from May 9 to 11, 2018.

It offered participants an open forum for exchanging ideas and best practices to advance public support for the arts and culture and build vibrant, prosperous, and inclusive societies.

The Summit culminated in a joint call to action that commits delegates to ongoing dialogue, collaboration and exchange. It reflects their shared values and priorities, and celebrates the rich diversity that unites the Americas region.


Read the call to action in the post-event report


Voices of the Summit

Participants share their views on the Summit.


Summit Statistics

Summit of Americas Statistics 2018

Image of Americas Cultural Summit 2018 Statistics including discussion themes, gender balance of presenters and delegates, percentage of post-event survey respondents that are motivated to form new collaborations and partnerships, and participation data on the primary language of presenters and types of delegates, as well as countries represented.

Summit Themes

Arts and Social Change, Creating Commons for Digital Inclusion, Cultural Rights, Diversity and Inclusion, Indigenous Rights, Participatory Governance, and Truth, Memory and Reconciliation

Participant Data

169 Delegates

Delegates Percentage
Public Funder 46%
Organization 17%
Government 16%
Association 8%
Artist 7%
Academic 4%
Private Foundation 2%

92% of post-event survey respondents are motivated to form new collaborations and partnerships


33 Countries Represented

Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Rapa Nui, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Uruguay, and United States of America


Event Program

The following question guided the Summit: How can government, institutions, practitioners, artists and citizens work together to help build more vibrant, open and pluralist democracies, which respect, promote and protect the right of everyone to take part in cultural life?





Karima Bennoune

Karima Bennoune (USA)

UN Special Rapporteur in the field of cultural rights
Professor of Law and Martin Luther King, Jr. Hall Research Scholar at the University of California-Davis School of Law

Astra Taylor

Astra Taylor (Canada/USA)

Writer, Documentarian, Organizer

Alberto Manguel

Alberto Manguel (Argentina/Canada)

Director of the National Library of Argentina, Writer

Alonso Salazar J.

Alonso Salazar J. (Colombia)

Consultant, Writer, former Mayor of Medellín

Leandro Carvalho

Leandro Carvalho (Brazil)

UK Chevening Clore Fellow
Former Secretary of State for Culture, Mato Grosso, Brazil

Jesse Wente

Jesse Wente (Canada)

Director, Indigenous Screen Office

Mauricio Delfín Pacheco

Mauricio Delfín (Peru)

Researcher, Promoter of Open Government in Cultural Sectors

Elizabeth Silkes

Elizabeth Silkes (USA)

Executive Director, International Coalition of Sites of Conscience

Cristóbal Bianchi

Cristóbal Bianchi (Chile)

Artist, Editor and Founder, Casagrande Art Collective 

María Laura Ruggiero

María Laura Ruggiero (Argentina)

Filmmaker, Animator and Storyteller

Eliza Chandler

Eliza Chandler (Canada)

Assistant Professor, School of Disability Studies, Ryerson University

María Claudia Parias Duran

María Claudia Parias Durán (Colombia)

CEO, Batuta National Foundation

María de los Ángeles González

The Honourable María de los Ángeles González (Argentina)

Minister of Innovation and Culture for the Government of the Province of Santa Fe

Rhodnie Désir

Rhodnie Désir (Canada)

Choreographer, Artistic Director  of RDCreations and Executive Producer of BOW’T TRAIL

Tito Hasbun

Tito Hasbun (Canada-El Salvador)

Consulting Director, Asociación de Arte para el Desarrollo

Jax Deluca

Jax Deluca (USA)

Director of Media Arts, National Endowment for the Arts

Taeyoon Choi

Taeyoon Choi (USA)

Artist and activist

Angie Leslye Pont Chamorro

Angie Leslye Pont Chamorro (Rapa Nui)

Artist, Cultural carrier and Curator

Kenneth N. Frankel

Kenneth N. Frankel (Canada)

President, Canadian Council for the Americas

The Honourable Olivia Grange

The Honourable Olivia Grange CD, MP (Jamaica)

Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport

Juan Meliá

Juan Meliá (Mexico)

Executive Secretary, National Fund for Culture and the Arts (FONCA)

Monique Manatch

Moniqu Manatch (Canada, Algonquin Nation)

(Canada, Algonquin Nation) 

Magdalena Moreno Mujica

Magdalena Moreno Mujica (Australia)

Executive Director, IFACCA

Simon Brault

Simon Brault (Canada)

Director and CEO, Canada Council for the Arts

Carolyn Warren

Carolyn Warren (Canada)

Director General, Arts Granting Programs, Canada Council for the Arts  

Martin Inthamoussú

Martin Inthamoussú (Uruguay)

Artist and cultural manager

Javiera Parada

Javiera Parada (Chile)

Actress, cultural manager and activist

The Hon. Fernando Griffith

The Hon. Fernando Griffith (Paraguay)

Minister and Executive Secretary of the National Secretariat of Culture






International Federation of Arts Councils and Culture Agencies Logo
Ministerio de Cultura Presidencia de la Nación Logo




Embajada Argentina en Canadá Logo
National Gallery of Canada Logo
National Arts Centre Logo


British Council Logo


Canadian Museum of History Logo


The National Film Board of Canada


Global Affairs Canada