1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Robert Fleming Prize

Robert Fleming Prize

2018 Winner: Fjóla Evans

Fjóla Evans

Photo: Eugen Sakhenko

Current Winner

Fjóla Evans

The work of composer and cellist Fjóla Evans explores the visceral physicality of sound while drawing inspiration from patterns of natural phenomena.

What is this prize?

The Robert Fleming Prize is awarded to an exceptionally talented young Canadian composer to further their career development. This is one of the only prizes awarded to Canadian composers.

Prize amount



How to qualify

Professional Canadian composers who submit an eligible application to the Explore and Create program are automatically considered for this prize. The winner is selected based on the assessment of the grant application.



Who created this prize?

This prize was created, and is awarded, in the memory of Robert Fleming, a Canadian composer who was also a pianist, organist, choir director and professor, at Carleton University in particular, to promote the careers of young composers.

Further Information

Sarah Brown

Program Officer, Prizes

E-mail: sarah.brown@canadacouncil.ca

613-566-4414, ext. 6004

Toll free: 1-800-263-5588, ext. 6004

TTY: 1-866-585-5559


Prize Amount


By program

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes.