1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Professional Prix de Rome in Architecture

Prix de Rome in Architecture — Professional

Collage of 11 headshots of members of Modern Office of Design + Architecture

Modern Office of Design + Architecture

Photographer(s): Ema Peter Photography

Latest Winner

Modern Office of Design + Architecture

Founded in 2013 by architects Ben Klumper and Dustin Couzens, Modern Office of Design + Architecture is a Calgary-based practice in the fields of architecture, urbanism, landscape and design. They practice along a spectrum of project types and scales, approaching projects without any preconceived agenda or style, but rather with an attitude of calculated naiveté towards the status quo. They seek the potential in constraints, exploiting them as opportunities for spectacle to emerge within the everyday. They relish conversations with like-minded thinkers, dreamers and makers who yearn to produce something bigger than any one individual could accomplish on their own.

Site web: moda.ca

The prize

The Prix de Rome in Architecture – Professional is awarded to a young practitioner of architecture or an architectural firm that has completed their first built works and has demonstrated exceptional artistic potential. With this prize, the recipient may travel abroad to develop their skills and their creative practice, and to strengthen their position in the international architecture world.


Inspired by the Prix de Rome in architecture, which was created in the 18th century and helped young architects train in Italy, the Prix de Rome in Architecture – Professional was established in Canada in 1987 in pursuit of a more outward-looking vision towards the world.

Additional information


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414, ext. 6004


October 5, 2024

Annual competition

Prize amount



Updated guidelines will be posted 2 months prior to the deadline. Submit your application to architecture-prizes@canadacouncil.ca.

Cumulative list of winners [62 KB]

The Canada Council is committed to equity in all its activities, including the administration of prizes and awards.


If you are Deaf, hard of hearing, or a TTY user, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact the Canada Council.

The Canada Council for the Arts can also receive calls from a video relay service (VRS). For more information, visit the VRS Canada website.