1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Prix de Rome in Architecture for Emerging Practitioners

Note: Due to the uncertainty around international travel because of the COVID-19 pandemic, we must postpone the deadline for this competition to October 1, 2021. Two winners will be named in 2021.

Prix de Rome in Architecture - Emerging Practitioners

 Kinan Hewitt

Kinan Hewitt

Photo: Dorothy Johns

Current Winner

Kinan Hewitt

Kinan Hewitt is a designer currently working at KPMB Architects in Toronto. A graduate from the University of Toronto’s M.Arch program at the John H. Daniels Faculty, Kinan was awarded the AIA Henry Adams Medal, and the OAA Architectural Guild Medal. Throughout his educational and professional experience, Kinan's architectural interests have maintained a focus on the role of the human condition within design. Kinan will research co-housing and design strategies that have served successful co-living arrangements to investigate an alternative response to the trends of rising housing costs and sentiments of isolation across many Canadian cities.

What is this prize?

The Prix de Rome in Architecture for Emerging Practitioners is awarded to a recent graduate from a Canadian architectural school who has demonstrated exceptional potential in contemporary architectural design. With this prize, the recipient may visit architectural buildings and carry out an internship at an internationally renowned architectural firm anywhere in the world.

Prize amount

$34,000 for the work program, travel and public presentation

How to qualify

Apply to the Council.

A peer assessment committee will select the recipient from among all applicants.

For eligibility criteria, the application form and for further information on this prize, see the Prix-de-Rome-Emerging-ENG.




Who created this prize?

Inspired by the Prix de Rome in architecture, which was created in the 18th century and helped young architects train in Italy, the Prix de Rome in Architecture for Emerging Practitioners was established in Canada in 1987 in pursuit of a more outward-looking vision towards the world.

For more information

Sarah Brown

Program Officer, Prizes


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414, ext. 6004

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.