1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Molson Prizes

Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes

2018 winners: Diane Schoemperlen (top) and Lynne Viola (bottom).

2018 winners: Diane Schoemperlen (top) and Lynne Viola (bottom).

Photo: Mark Raynes Roberts (top)

2018 winners

Diane Schoemperlen
Diane Schoemperlen is the author of 14 books of fiction and non-fiction, including This Is Not My Life: A Memoir of Love, Prison, and Other Complications. Her collection Forms of Devotion: Stories and Pictures won the 1998 Governor General’s Literary Award for English-language Fiction.

Lynne Viola
Lynne Viola is a University Professor in history at the University of Toronto and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Her work is on the social and political history of the Stalin years, focusing on the mass repression of the 1930s.

Read more about the 2018 winners

What is this prize?

The Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes are awarded to two persons – one in the arts and the other in the social sciences and humanities, who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding achievements. The prizes are intended to encourage ongoing contributions to Canada's cultural and intellectual heritage.

Prize amount

Two prizes valued at up to $50,000 each

How to qualify

Nominations must be submitted to the Council by a third party (individual or organization).

A peer assessment committee will select the recipients from among all the nominations received.

For eligibility criteria, the nomination form and further information on these prizes, see the Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes Guidelines.



1 November

Who created this prize?

These prizes are funded by an endowment from the Molson Foundation.

Further Information

Luiza Pereira

Program Officer

E-mail: luiza.pereira@canadacouncil.ca

613-566-4414, ext. 4086

Toll free: 1-800-263-5588, ext. 4086

TTY: 1-866-585-5559

Next Deadline

November, 2018


Prize Amount

Up to

By Nomination

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes.