1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Michael Measures Prize

Michael Measures Prize

Martin Mangrum (left) and Jonathan Mak (right)

Martin Mangrum (left) and Jonathan Mak (right)

Photo: Toby Winarto (right)

Current Winners

Martin Mangrum
This year’s Michael Measures first prize of $25,000 goes to Martin Mangrum, of Montréal, who plays the French horn. Martin is a performance student at the Colburn School Conservatory of Music in Los Angeles.

Jonathan Mak
The Michael Measures second prize of $15,000 goes to Jonathan Mak, of Thornhill, Ontario, who plays the piano and viola. Jonathan is currently pursuing his Bachelor’s degree at the Cleveland Institute of Music.


Read more about the 2018 winners

What is this prize?

The Michael Measures Prize recognizes promising young Canadian classical music performers. The prize is awarded to young musicians 16 to 24 years of age who are enrolled in the summer training program of the NYO Canada (National Youth Orchestra of Canada).

Prize amount

$25,000 for First Prize
$15,000 for Second Prize

How to qualify

By taking part in the summer training program of the NYO Canada.

For eligibility criteria and further information on this prize, go to the NYO Canada website.



See the NYO Canada website.

Who created this prize?

Michael Measures was a great music lover and engaged volunteer in Ottawa’s artistic community. Upon his death, he made a generous bequest to the Canada Council for the Arts so that it could provide development opportunities for young classical musicians and encourage public recognition of their achievements.

Further Information

Helen Belvin

Outreach and Special Events Officer

Canada Council for the Arts

150 Elgin Street, P.O. Box 1047

Ottawa ON K1P 5V8

E-mail: helen.belvin@canadacouncil.ca

613-566-4414, ext. 4057

Toll free: 1-800-263-5588, ext. 4057

TTY: 1-866-585-5559


Prize Amount

First Prize $25,000
Second Prize $15,000

By Application

Cumulative list of winners