1. Home
  2. Funding
  3. Prizes
  4. Killam Prizes

Killam Prizes

Killam Program transferred to NRC

The administration of the Killam Program has been transferred from the Canada Council for the Arts to the National Research Council Canada (NRC). For inquiries about Program administration prior to the 2022–2023 cohort, please contact prizes@canadacouncil.ca. For all other inquiries, please visit the NRC’s webpage for the National Killam Program



The Canada Council Killam Prizes recognize and celebrate our most inspiring scholars and thought leaders.

Visit Killam Program


What is this prize?

The Killam Prizes are awarded to active Canadian scholars who have distinguished themselves through sustained excellence, making a significant impact in their respective fields in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and engineering.

Who created this prize?

These prizes, which are among the most distinguished research awards in Canada, were established by the Killam Trusts thanks to a gift and bequest from Mrs. Dorothy J. Killam in memory of her husband, Izaak Walton Killam, and his outstanding achievements. 

For more information visit the Killam Program.



Prize amount


  • 5 prizes of $100,000 each
  • 1 discipline per prize

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.


For people who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or TTY users, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact us.

The Canada Council also welcomes VRS (Video Relay Service) calls. For more information, please visit the VRS Canada website.