1. Funding
  2. Prizes

Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards

Celebrating excellence in performing arts

The Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards celebrate the talent of artists who have made an outstanding contribution to the vitality of the performing arts in Canada and beyond.

The prizes

The Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards (GGPAA) are Canada’s highest honour in the performing arts. They recognize a stellar array of artists and arts volunteers for their outstanding contribution to culture in Canada and beyond.

Every year, the GGPAAs are presented for Lifetime Artistic Achievement in five categories: stages, dance, classical music, popular music, and screens and voices.


Nominations are submitted by the general public. To submit a nomination, visit the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards website.


Five cash prizes of $25,000 for laureates in each category and a commemorative medallion struck by the Royal Canadian Mint.


The Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards were created in 1992 under the patronage of the Right Honourable Ramon John Hnatyshyn, then Governor General of Canada, and with the encouragement of Peter Herrndorf and Brian Robertson, two members of the Toronto Arts Foundation. The Awards were established with a start-up grant provided by the federal government as part of the 125th anniversary celebrations of the Confederation of Canada.


December 8, 2023

Annual competition


Five prizes of $25,000


Cumulative list of winners


If you are Deaf, hard of hearing, or a TTY user, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact the Canada Council.

The Canada Council for the Arts can also receive calls from a video relay service (VRS). For more information, visit the VRS Canada website.