1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Canada-Japan Literary Awards

Canada-Japan Literary Awards

Current winners: Lynne Kutsukake (top) and Geneviève Blouin (bottom)

Current winners: Lynne Kutsukake (top) and Geneviève Blouin (bottom)

Photo: Patrick Lemay / Studio Humanoid (bottom)

Current Winners

Lynne Kutsukake

In Lynne Kutsukake’s first novel, The Translation of Love, the intertwining lives of the characters weave a web joining together what it means to be Japanese and Japanese Canadian in the time directly after WW II.

Geneviève Blouin

In her book Hanaken – Le sang des samouraïs, Geneviève Blouin shares with her readers a profound interest in history, creating an immersive experience in feudal Japan.

What is this prize?

The Canada-Japan Literary Awards recognize literary excellence by Canadian writers and translators who write, or translate from Japanese into English or French, a work on Japan, on Japanese themes or on themes that promote mutual understanding between Japan and Canada.

Prize amount

Two prizes valued at $10,000 each (one English-language work and one French-language work).

How to qualify

Nominations must be submitted to the Council by a professional book publisher.

A peer assessment committee will select the recipients from among all nominations received.

For eligibility criteria, the nomination form and further information on these prizes, see the Canada-Japan Literary Awards Guidelines and Form.



30 April

Who created this prize?

Funding for the Canada-Japan Literary Awards comes from the investment returns on the portion of the Japan-Canada Fund set aside as a perpetual endowment for a literary award.

Further Information

Luiza Pereira

Program Officer

E-mail: luiza.pereira@canadacouncil.ca

613-566-4414, ext. 4086

Toll free: 1-800-263-5588, ext. 4086

TTY: 1-866-585-5559

Next Deadline

April, 2018


Prize Amount


By Nomination

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes.