1. Research
  2. Stats and Stories
  3. 2019-20 Alberta Funding Overview

Stats and Stories 2019-20
Alberta Funding Overview

Stats and Stories presents a breadth of information about the Canada Council’s funding: detailed breakdowns of funding, five-year trends, open data tables and stories about what artists, groups and arts organizations did with their grants.

Alberta at a glance

Grants in Alberta

$16.0M

Grants to arts organizations

$11.1M

Grants to groups

$698.9K

Grants to artists

$4.1M

Total Canada Council grants in Canada

$263.7M

Arts organizations supported

104

Groups supported

24

Artists supported

195

Other programs and activities

$901.4K

First-time grant recipients

134

Communities where grants were awarded

29

Artists and arts professionals who served as peer assessors

38

Breakdown of funding in Alberta

Funding by program or strategic fund

Program or strategic fund Amount
Explore and Create $3.7M
Engage and Sustain $6.7M
Creating, Knowing and Sharing: The Arts and Cultures of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples $1.2M
Supporting Artistic Practice $1.2M
Arts Across Canada $1.4M
Arts Abroad $431.6K
Prizes $208.5K
Strategic Funds - Digital Strategy Fund $910.6K
Strategic Funds - Other $554.9K
Art Bank $0.0
Canadian Commission for UNESCO $0.0
Public Lending Right $721.4K

Funding by field of practice

Field of practice Amount
Circus Arts $37.3K
Dance $1.8M
Deaf and Disability Arts $515.4K
Digital Arts $0.0
Indigenous Arts $1.4M
Inter-Arts $194.2K
Literature $918.2K
Media Arts $1.3M
Multidisciplinary Activities $584.8K
Music and Sound $3.7M
Theatre $3.7M
Visual Arts $1.8M
Other Discipline $16.0K

5-year trend: grant amounts

Year Amount
2015-16 $8.4M
2016-17 $10.5M
2017-18 $11.0M
2018-19 $12.6M
2019-20 $16.0M

Highest funded organizations

Organization Link Amount
Edmonton Symphony Orchestra https://www.winspearcentre.com $884.0K
Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra https://calgaryphil.com $836.2K
Alberta Ballet https://www.albertaballet.com $545.7K
Decidedly Jazz Danceworks https://decidedlyjazz.com $515.0K
The Citadel Theatre https://www.citadeltheatre.com $500.0K
Calgary Opera https://www.calgaryopera.com $490.0K
The Banff Centre https://www.banffcentre.ca $379.0K
Edmonton Opera Association https://www.edmontonopera.com $353.4K
Art Gallery of Alberta http://www.youraga.ca/ $325.0K
Alberta Theatre Projects https://albertatheatreprojects.com/ $254.6K
Important note

Opening doors to Canadian arts data

We offer the public detailed statistical data regarding our grant recipients in formatted Excel documents and in a machine readable format (.csv). Data can be sorted by programs, regions (e.g. community and census metropolitan area) and can also be added to other databases on arts and culture activities and organizations in Canada. 

Data Tables
Annual Report 2019-2020

Annual Report

Each year, the Canada Council for the Arts makes its Annual Report available to the public. This document reviews the Council’s commitments from its five-year strategic plan and highlights the year’s major projects while showcasing the work of funded artists and organizations. The Annual Report demonstrates the importance, necessity and impact of public arts funding.

Read the Annual Report

If you've used our data let us know. Send us your feedback or share your results. Contact us.