1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts

Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts

Walter Carsen prize.

Margaret Grenier

Photo: Chris Randle

Current Winner

Margaret Grenier

Margaret Grenier, B.Sc., M.A., is the Executive and Artistic Director of the Dancers of Damelahamid and the Producer of the Coastal Dance Festival. Margaret’s multimedia choreographic works bridge Gitxsan and Cree dance forms with current expressions and have contributed to a redefining of contemporary Indigenous dance. Her works have toured nationally and internationally. Her most recent work, Mînowin, premiered at the 2019 Mòshkamo Festival at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, and it was presented at the 2019 Festival Internacional Cervantino in Guanajuato, Mexico. 

What is this prize?

The Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts recognizes the highest level of artistic excellence and distinguished career achievement by a Canadian professional artist in music, theatre or dance. The prize is awarded on a four-year cycle in dance, theatre, dance and music.

Who created this prize?

Walter Carsen established this fund with a generous $1.1 million donation to the Canada Council for the Arts in 2001.

For more information

Jennifer Cherniack

Program Officer, Prizes


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414, ext. 5265


April 2021


Prize amount


By nomination



Nomination Form (DOC) 

Updated guidelines will be posted 2 months prior to the next competition. You can submit an nomination to waltercarsen-prizes@canadacouncil.ca

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.


For people who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or TTY users, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact us.

Canada Council also welcomes VRS (Video Relay Service) calls. For more information, please visit the VRS Canada website.