1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music

Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music

Portrait of Gabriel Dharmoo, composer/performer

Gabriel Dharmoo, composer/performer

Antoine Bordeleau, VOIR

2017 Winner

Gabriel Dharmoo
(Winning work: Wanmansho, 2015)

His works have been performed in Canada, the U.S.A, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Spain, Poland, Australia, Singapore and South Africa.

“I feel thankful and happy, especially because Wanmansho is quite representative of my recent musical and artistic ideas pertaining to imaginary folklore, extended-voice techniques and musical dramaturgy.”
- Gabriel Dharmoo


Read more about Gabriel Dharmoo

What is this prize?

The Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music encourages Canadian professional composers to create avant-garde chamber music and to foster its performance by Canadian chamber groups.

Prize amount


How to Qualify

Apply to the Council.

A peer assessment committee will select the recipient from among all applicants.

For the eligibility criteria for applicants and works, the application form and further information on this prize, see the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music Guidelines.



1 June

Who created this prize?

The prize was established in 1978 by the Right Honourable Jules Léger, then Governor General of Canada, who always encouraged innovation and excellence.

Further Information

Sarah Brown

Program Officer, Prizes

Canada Council for the Arts

150 Elgin Street, P.O. Box 1047

Ottawa ON K1P 5V8

E-mail: sarah.brown@canadacouncil.ca

613-566-4414, ext. 6004

Toll free: 1-800-263-5588, ext. 6004

TTY: 1-866-585-5559

Next Deadline

June, 2018


Prize Amount


By Application

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes.