1. Funding
  2. Prizes

Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition

Current winner: Amy Hillis

2018 winner: Amy Hillis

2018 Winner

Amy Hillis

Originally from Regina, Amy Hillis is a violinist based in Montreal. She has two upcoming recital tours across Canada: the 2018 E-Gré tour with Katherine Dowling and the 2019-2020 Road Trip!: A Pan-Canadian Partnership with Meagan Milatz. She performs on the 1820 Joannes Franciscus Pressenda, on loan from the Canada Council for the Arts Musical Instrument Bank.

What is this prize?

The Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition is a major contemporary music competition that rewards the most talented young artists in the categories of piano, voice and strings.

Prize amount

First prize: $8,000, a Canadian tour and a three-week residency at the Casalmaggiore International Music Festival in Italy.

Second prize: $3,000

Third prize: $2,000

How to qualify

Apply to the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition.

For eligibility criteria and further information on this competition, visit the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition.



See the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition website.

Who created this prize?

Sophie-Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatté was a virtuoso composer, pianist and violinist who wanted to encourage emerging musicians to play works by contemporary composers.

The Prize fulfills Sophie-Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatté's lifelong dream that the music of contemporary composers could make its presence felt by young musicians on the threshold of their careers.

Additional information

Annual competition

Prize amount

$2,000 -


Cumulative list of winners [113 KB]


If you are Deaf, hard of hearing, or a TTY user, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact the Canada Council.

The Canada Council for the Arts can also receive calls from a video relay service (VRS). For more information, visit the VRS Canada website.